Boards & Committees

Hotel Occupancy Tax Board (HOT Board)

Term of Office: Two Years
Meeting Schedule: Once a quarter and one allocation meeting in June
Staff Liaison: Jeana Bellinger

FY2014-15 Hotel Occupancy Tax (HOT) Funding Forms

Position Board Members
Term Expires December 31
1 Byron Davis 2020
2 Seneca McAdams 2020
3 Stacey Walters 2020
4 Susan Cantey 2020
5 Al Patel 2019
6 Keith Hankins 2020
7 Sharon Brass 2019
8 Melinda Faubion* 2018
9 Bob Cottle* 2020

* County Appointed

In May, 2010 the City of Brenham and Washington County entered into an Interlocal Agreement to jointly establish the Brenham-Washington County Hotel Occupancy Tax (HOT) Board. The purpose and responsibility of the HOT Board will include, but not be limited to, the following:

  • To recommend allocation of hotel occupancy tax funds as authorized by the Texas Tax Code, Chapters 351 and 352;
    To receive and review applications from organizations requesting funds;
  • To recommend to the governing bodies of the City and County allocation of hotel occupancy tax funding; and
  • To review the actual expenditures of hotel occupancy tax funds.

The HOT Board is comprised of nine (9) members:

  • Seven (7) members (Member Positions 1-7) will be appointed by the City of Brenham City Council to three (3) year, staggered, terms; and
  • Two (2) members (Member Positions 8-9) will be appointed by the Washington County Commissioners Court to two (2) year, staggered, terms

Members shall be appointed to staggered three (3) year terms, ending in December of each calendar year. The City Manager shall designate a Staff Liaison to perform support services, prepare agendas, post meeting notices, and prepare the minutes of the Board meetings. The Board members shall elect a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson, whose terms shall be for a period of one (1) year.